Holiday Season: Then and Now


The older I get, the faster Christmas comes, but that doesn’t mean I know it’s coming. The older I get, the more and more it feels like one day I spin around and >poof< there it is. I remember little nine year old me jumping up and down anxiously as I watched the clock tick painfully by, almost too slow to stand. Now, I feel like I’m glancing at the calendar as if each time I do I’ve skipped days within a matter of seconds.

I’m not complaining… But on the other hand, I kinda am. Don’t get me wrong, the best time of the year for me is Christmas. My coffee mug filled to the brim as I write beside the crackling fire in my pj’s. Presents. No school. But… I don’t know.

I have always been told that the older you get, the faster time goes. That’s just… scary. You know what I mean? Like… The more that I realize how precious time is, the quicker it seems to slip through my fingertips, like sand through an hourglass.

When I started this (writing this post) I didn’t intend for it to turn into a conversation about my (ir)rational fears, but that’s what it has become. I mean, isn’t that just a part of the holidays? When your family is circling around you like vultures asking questions like “how’s school?” or “do you have a boyfriend/girlfriend?” or “have you decided on a college?”, don’t you find your mind wondering, subconsciously, about everything that they’re asking you and even what they’re not?

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe it’s not. I guess I just needed to talk to you guys.

On the bright side, I’m going to be having a couple guest writers pop on and publish a couple articles on here just to give you guys a little more variety and introduce a couple talented people I’ve run into online, on the streets, and during poetry slams. I hope y’all enjoy. On top of that, I hope you all have noticed the beautiful Christmas theme that has taken over my blog. This is a temporary theme and will change on December 26th. I will also be starting a YouTube channel and hope to have my first video out before the end of the first week of January.

Stick around, guys, I have a lot of plans and I have a feeling this is going to be a great year.

Leave a Reply

