I’m Not Bitter


It’s Valentine’s Day. A day of poetry, couples, and (most importantly) chocolate. I guess what makes me a little upset is that fact that people expect me to be bitter or sad. Why? Because I’m single? Actually, I feel like Valentine’s Day is a great day for the single people.

I mean, come on. Candy is 50 percent off the next day, movies are the best on Valentine’s Day, and you don’t have to go anywhere. In fact, people expect you to stay home.

The only thing I really dislike about Valentine’s Day is the consumerism that has corrupted such an innocent event. I can’t even call it a holiday. In reality, the only reason Valentine’s Day is a big day is because the businessmen came together and said “hey, you know what? People spend more money certain things on this day. We should exploit this.”

I mean, my Twitter is filled with jokes taking stabs at Valentine’s spending (none of which are really funny):

Valentine's Tweet

My plans? I plan on celebrating Valentine’s Day on Friday with the three closest females I have. We’re going to stay at a hotel with food and movies and we’re gonna have fun and lose track of time. Then, on the actual day, I will be working, but I don’t mind. I work at one of the best places to be on Valentine’s Day, where I can make other’s days magical.

What do you think of Valentine’s Day or what will you be doing? Tell me below!

Leave a Reply

