“Ladies, Gentlemen… and Thespians.”


For the past four days, I have been getting up before sunrise and coming home after sunset, all in the name of theater. The Thespian State Conference occurred recently and I had been invited to compete and perform in two different musicals.

The first day (Wednesday) was a 13 hour rehearsal in preparation for the following day’s first and last performance of “Opening Number 2015”, directed by Gerry Born. The show is a very interesting and unique one in that when the actors audition for it, they have no idea what they are auditioning for. The show is written by Mr. Born after all of the auditions with the actors he accepts in mind. The day before, also known as the Bloody Rehearsal, is the only rehearsal that occurs before the day of the show. I was ensemble in the musical and had a lot of fun and met a lot of people. Each actor had something different to bring to the table and we all learned a lot from each other.

The second day, I had two performances to do and an i.e. (individual event) in between. My event was contrasting monologues which I had received a qualifying score and, from one judge, I received a perfect score.

The third day was my last two performances as Grandma for the “Addams Family”. I don’t even know what to say. I’m going to miss that wacky bunch so much and I am so proud of each and every member of the cast and crew. We left it all on the stage in those last two performances and I don’t think we could have done it any better.

Today, the final day, I got there and spoke with my Addams Family cast and crew and went to a couple of workshops before the award ceremony in which I was able to witness my senior friends handing over their “crowns” to the next Thespian Officers. I also found out that I was not invited to internationals to compete as I did not receive an “accomplished” score. I’m okay with that because I have had a great experience these past four days and nothing could tarnish my happiness and bliss.

I am, however, not coping well with the fact that the Addams Family is now in my rear-view mirror. We’ve been doing this show for almost a year and for it to be over so suddenly is almost inconceivable. I’ll admit, I complained a time or two, but in reality that show was my life and now it’s over. All the memories are in the past and I know that their will never be a show or cast like it. But the actor who played Fester (not mentioning his name) summed it up best:

“We’ll always be an Addams Family.”

It’s been real. Seeya next year, STC.

Leave a Reply

