Prom?


Every year since the beginning of time, girls have looked forward to Prom. What can I say? I wasn’t any different. I imagined it would be just like the movies. I found and purchased the perfect dress, but as the time approaches, I feel myself just not wanting to go.

Or maybe I want to go, but no one else does. One of my good friends said that they didn’t want to go because they wanted to go to their Senior Prom instead. This idea got me thinking, do people not go to Junior Prom because they are afraid they will be let down? Do they want to save that special moment for their senior year?

Maybe. Maybe not. In all honesty, I don’t care. I will freely admit that I want to go to Prom. I want to wear my princess dress and dance and revel in the fact that I have my whole life ahead of me. I want to spend that special night that I have looked forward to since what feels like forever surrounded by my friends and making tremendous memories that I can look back to when I’m old. I want fun. I don’t, however, want regrets. I don’t want to look back and think, I wish I would’ve gone, I want to think, I’m so happy I went.

But how do I have a good time if no one I know is going? What do I do, spend $75 to stand in a corner? I don’t know. I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

Leave a Reply

