POEM | To Dictate the Life I Live


Second piece in the “Late at Night” series.

I am a part of a nation
Where my sexual orientation
Dictates the life I live.

Where money trumps time,
Families torn a part for a dime,
And paper dictates the life I live.

Where my gender is inferior
And an extra body part makes you superior.
My husband will dictate the life I live.

But what happened to freedom and equality?
What happened to political honesty?

I am a part of a nation of corruption
Where the media’s “truth” is assumption
And dictates the life I live.

Where the youth are treated like cattle
And it is a constant battle
To dictate the life I live.

I am sick of all the lies
And cutting all ties
To the society that raised me.

I choose my own destiny,
Choose to see the world with refound clarity,
And never settle for second best.

I don’t have enough years
To let societal fears
Dictate the life I live.

Leave a Reply

