Finals are upon us


God saves us.

The funniest thing about finals is that, to me, it’s not the actual exams that frighten me. It’s all of the other people who seem so stressed out that cause me to panic. I see people shifting through notes last-minute and spending all of their time in the library with their noses buried in a textbook while I go to work without a care in the world.

I don’t know if I’m just cocky or if I’m really prepared. I’d like to think it’s the latter, considering the marks I’ve earned thus far.

But we all need a little break.

Tonight my roommates and I broke into the presents that had been accumulating under the tree for nearly a month and it was magical. You don’t really understand how well you get to know each other until it comes down to presents.

It’s amusing to think that my roommates know I absolutely need to do two things: chill out and nerd out.

With that, everything has calmed down a bit. The trash has been picked up, the gifts are in the respective rooms and I am crammed into my soon-to-be-not-my room “studying for finals.”

It always comes down to finals, even when you don’t seem to be thinking about it.

This having been my first round of the infamous season, it doesn’t seem so scary, but I do understand the severity of the situation.

I’ve seen close friends not only fail finals but also classes all because of one test. It doesn’t make any sense to me. I am sincerely grateful for the professors who care and will work with their students to ensure that they succeed. I don’t know what I would do without them.

Leave a Reply

