Thankful for a break


I hope that everyone enjoyed their holiday break but now it’s back to work… for most people.

The college students I know are all watching their parents and siblings wake up at the crack of dawn just so they can all lay around or hit the town. I don’t understand how – or why – we get another week but I am not one to look a gift horse in the mouth.

This break is giving me time to relax before the no-doubt exhausting semester ahead.

Unfortunately this time to think makes me even more anxious about my upcoming classes. I always thought that I needed more down time but in reality I think that it might be best for me to be constantly busy.

It takes my mind off of what could go wrong and keeps me thinking about what is happening in that moment. I see the assignments and projects and work shifts as short-term goals to achieve.

I’ve decided that 2017 will be the year of me where I work towards, not only my future, but more importantly my present. I want to better my physical and emotional health. I want to   meet new people and do new things. I want to travel more. I want to be happy.

I think that there have been short moments in time where I have been constantly happy, most of the time it’s me wondering why I am not and accusing myself of being ungrateful because I’m not.

I understand that it’s because of my brain. In fact, I know it’s because of my brain. But I also know that I beat myself up about it all because of my brain.

I’m thankful for this break because I can see that. I can think about how I’m going to resolve stressors that arise and I can predict problems that might occur. I can be proactive.

I hope everyone is using their break to calm down before the storm.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

