Throwback


My university’s student government hosted a welcome back dance by “throwing it back” to the ’90s. I guess you could say it was a night only ’90s kids will remember. You could also say that I have used that joke way too often in the past 48 hours.

The dance itself was by far the best the university has hosted this 2016-2017 school year. The playlist was amazing but all of the songs were not from the ’90s which threw a few people off.

Besides the actual dance itself, the first 80 students at the door got free fanny packs so you know my friends and I were first in line. In fact, we go there an hour before “just to be safe.”

Once we grabbed our complimentary fanny packs, we rushed through the double-doors of the gym and looked around at what seemed to be an authentic ’90s prom complete with the rigged balloon drop (which actually never happened thanks to some drunk would-be frat guys).

Besides that, there was a row of tables stacked high with candy I haven’t had in years. Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops, Pop Rocks, etc. Not only candy, but drinks. Does anyone else remember the Kool-Aid drinks with the plastic, twist-off tabs because I do!

The walls were lines with paper Pac-Man ghosts and t.v. channels like “Cartoon Network.” Remember when it played all the good shows?

I think the best part of the night, however, was being able to let loose with my friends. I left this dance feeling happier than I had at any of the previous and I know it was because of the people I was hanging out with. It’s truly the people you surround yourself with that make all the difference.


Make sure to click the blue “follow” button to stay up to date with all of my latest adventures. Also follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more fun from me and all of my friends. While you’re at it, make sure to subscribe to my YouTube channel because I’m going to start uploading videos on there more regularly.

In some of my most recent blog posts, you might have seen this beautiful blonde who resembles Elsa and dressed like Tinkerbell in my Halloween posts. Please check out her blog here and make sure to follow her as well.

Leave a Reply

