Part two: Lin-Manuel Miranda


This is part one of the two-part exercise in my APA Psychology writing course. 

The prompt was “if you could be anyone for a day, who would it be and why?” 


I was sucked into a foreign world, one that I found terrifying and fascinating in all of the best ways.

I saw sun peaking through the sheer curtains, dancing on the wood floor as my son hopped on my stomach. I laughed and bounced up, catching a glimpse of my reflection in the bathroom mirror.

In that moment I understood the strange feeling of belonging that had wrapped over me as my eyes had opened, for I was not looking at myself in the mirror.

As I stood in my pajamas and gawked at my reflection I saw Lin Manuel Miranda staring back at me.

It wasn’t the drastic change in gender which gave me a sense of freedom and joy but the passion and power that I now held within myself. I had the ability to change lives for the better and share the stories of millions to billions of people all over the world.

I had never felt I had a purpose and therefore I had never felt alive; but in this moment I felt as though I had taken my first breath of the icy air surrounding me and truly opened my eyes to the beauty of the world.

Leave a Reply

