The power of a word


I have always believed in the power of words. I think I’ve made that fairly clear.

I am confident in a speech’s ability to ignite passion in thousands of people and a poem’s right to evoke tears. In Harry Potter the simple power of a name could cause death and destruction and for the longest time I carried the same notion toward another word: faith.

I have always struggled with having faith, whether that be faith in religion or faith in people. I’m a scientist and a journalist, and in those fields faith is not only unnecessary but childish.

My whole like I thought to have faith was to set aside all questions and give up and give in. I believed faith was a weakness or just a more comfortable admission of ignorance. I’ve argued against faith for so long it’s become a habit of mine to cringe at its mention.

Within the Book Of Mormon my all-time favorite chapter is Alma 32. Within this chapter the word “faith” is mentioned 18 times. Not once did I cringe.

Alma 32 is probably my favorite chapter because of its almost-excessive use of the word, ironically.

To Heavenly Father, it’s a process. He sees me trying and He recognizes my efforts. He doesn’t demand perfection, He simply asks for you to try.

I was talking to one of my coworkers about my struggle with faith and told her that I was still working on it, but that I was proud of how far I had come. She told me one of her life mottos that I have decided to adopt: “God knows best so let him do the rest.”

She continued on and said:

“I’m used to worrying about what I want and now what I need. I’m working on helping God give me what I need now because I know later down the road my needs and wants will align.”

I am so blessed to have such amazing people in my life whom I can share the gospel with and whom can share a conversation with me.

I know that I struggle with my faith and that it is something I will most likely have to work on for a long time but I am further in my journey than I was yesterday and the day before. I am doing better with faith than I was a month ago and certainly the month before. I am making strides in my faith and I know He is proud of me and happy with what I am doing.

And that’s all that matters.


And now, my beloved brethren, I know by this that unless a man shall endure to the end, in following the example of the Son of the living God, he cannot be saved.

2 Nephi 31:16

Leave a Reply

