Oh how I love the red rocks


Utah is full of the most amazing sites you will ever know. The giant red rocks and the setting sun are enough to make anyone fall in love with the state.

Yesterday, my roommate and I hiked up and down these red rocks which had slanted and morphed into sturdy teepee shapes. We found the perfect spot to watch the sun set.

Over time water had chipped away at the red sandstone and, when dry, had made the perfect divot where you could lay down and dangle your feet off the edge. I am too short so my feet didn’t even cross the edge but it’s a nice sentiment.

We sat and watched the clouds turn from light pastels to vibrant pinks and purple to a fiery red. Then, as the sun sunk into its own sleep, the moon rose up ready for its turn to shine and the stars peaked out one by one.

It was amazing to see the bright world I was so accustomed to slowly evolve into the night, with its own populations and social norms.

Enjoy some of the shots we took while we were there and check out Ashley’s blog here and photography website here.


“Sure, give me an adventure and I’ll ride it.” -Melissa Auf der Maur

Leave a Reply

